1/2 Hour Lentil Soup with Ham

I don’t normally cook or keep a lot of ham around, but after Easter, I was left with some that I wasn’t sure how to use up. Thus was born the 1/2 Hour Lentil Soup with Ham.

I wanted to mention though, that there are several things I keep on hand so that I can make a quick pot of soup last minute.

Perishable items:

  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Carrots 
  • Celery 

I always try to keep these items on hand. For me, they are the basic starters for any pot of soup that I make.

Pantry items:

  • Olive oil
  • Dried herbs (oregano, thyme, rosemary, dull, bay leaves)
  • Dried spices (Cumin, curry, cayenne, garlic powder)

I always keep these items around so that I can easily season my dish or soup. 

Freezer items: 

  • Frozen herbs: (I found at Trader Joe’s, in the freezer section, frozen fresh garlic and basil. I have found these to be very handy in a pinch when I don’t have fresh herbs on hand. The flavor is much better than dried herbs.)
  • Frozen veggies like corn, peas, edamame. These are great to throw into a soup, boxed macaroni and cheese, homemade pasta dish, etc. to add some color and health.

Misc:

  • Lemons & limes: I always have these in my refrigerator so that I can grab them and squeeze them into soup, salad dressings, anything I cook!
  • Wine: enough said.

If I hadn’t had all these items on hand, I wouldn’t have been able to put together the soup. I served it with a quick salad and some garlic bread and it was delicious!

1/2 Hour Lentil Soup

  • Servings: 6 servings
  • Time: 1/2 hour
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

1/2 Hour Easy Lentil Soup

Ingredients

1 cup ham, diced (you could also use bacon or pancetta)

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 yellow onion diced

4 carrots diced

2 stalks of celery diced

4 cups broth (chicken or veggie)

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1/2 tsp oregano

1 T fresh basil or frozen basil 

Juice of one lemon

1/2 cup white wine

1 cup dried lentils

freshly ground black pepper and salt to taste


Directions

PREPARATION Heat a medium soup pot over medium-high heat. Add diced ham cook until you see some caramelization.Add the diced onions, cook until translucent. Add garlic, cook for a minute or two. Add carrots, celery, herbs and cook 5-6 minutes. 

Add broth and bring soup to a boil then add lentils then reduce heat to medium. Cook for 10 minutes then add wine, and lemon juice and basil. Check lentils for doneness and adjust seasonings to your liking.

Leave a Reply

